Judicial Branch

Iowa Supreme Court in Des Moines


The judicial branch in Iowa oversees Iowa’s court system and is led by the Iowa Supreme Court.  Through court cases the judicial branch explains the meaning of laws passed by the legislative branch and approved by the executive branch.

The Iowa Supreme Court is the highest court in Iowa and consists of seven judges that are appointed by the Governor and are subject to a retention vote by the people.