Executive Branch


UI President Sally Mason with Iowa Governor Branstad

The executive branch in Iowa includes the Governor, Lieutenant GovernorSecretary of Agriculture, Attorney General, Auditor of the State, Secretary of State, Treasurer of the State and the state agencies.  The executive branch administers and carries out the laws passed by the legislative branch and is headed by the Governor.  The Governor has veto power over laws passed by the legislative branch.