Legislative Branch

The legislative branch is made up of the US House of Representatives which comprises 435 members and the US Senate with 100 members.  Members of the US House are elected every two years while members of the US Senate are elected every six years. 

The legislative branch passes laws that are agreed to by 218 members of the House and 51 members of the Senate.  These laws are subject to the approval or veto of the President.